UD x JEAN-MICHEL BASQUIAT: The Best Makeup Collab Ever??!

As a huge Basquiat fan, I can not explain to you how excited I was when I saw this collection. I may have cried.

If you didn’t know, Urban Decay just launched a new collection in collaboration with Jean-Michel Basquiat’s estate. The collection includes 2 eyeshadow palettes, a cheek palette, 3 lipsticks, 3 eyeliners, and 3 makeup bags, all inspired by and packaged in recreations of Basquiat’s art. The collection has already launched and sold out, but it is going to be restocked online and sold in stores this week (April 27th I believe).

I was very impressed with Urban Decay when I heard about this collab. Most companies stick to the prettier girly side of makeup, which I love don’t get me wrong, but it just seems too perfect sometimes. Urban Decay is supposed to represent the “edgier” side of makeup, but I’ve never really been impressed. It was refreshing to see them collaborate with an actual artist, a graffiti artist, and not just the YouTube beauty guru de jour. For them to come out with this collection that is so reminiscent of Basquiat’s art, from the packaging, to the colors, to the names, is such a win in my book.

I didn’t even need to see the inside of the palettes, I was planning on buying everything just because of the packaging. But the insides are just as good. The pigmentation and colors are beautiful. The only palette I was able to get so far was the Gold Griot palette, which is the more neutral palette (and the one I was more excited for tbh so I’m not complaining too much). When it arrived I almost didn’t want to touch it.. I literally waited 2 days to even swatch the colors.

UD JEAN-MICHEL BASQUIAT in color

Overall, I’m very happy with this collaboration. It is so different from any collection I’ve seen and you can tell that there was a lot of work put into it. Even if you don’t know or care about Basquiat (you should), you need to check out this collection.

I’m going to be refreshing the page every second if I have to to get my hands on the rest and I’d love for you to leave your thoughts below!!!

Leave a comment