TOUCH MY BODY: My Secret to Crazy-Smooth Skin

This is just a suggestion but you should listen to Mariah Carey’s Touch My Body while you read this. I am. On repeat.

A few weeks ago I went on one of my crazy recurring Target excursions (I know I’m not the only one). The ones where I go in for one thing and end up leaving an hour and a half with hundreds less dollars in my wallet. Honestly, how do I end up walking up and down EVERY aisle? Remind me to invest in blinders (like the ones they put on horses, is that what they’re called?). But on this trip I stumbled upon the GREATEST MOISTURIZER EVER. We’ll get to it later, moisturizer is our last step here.

Step 1 is hair removal. Since smooth skin is very important to me, I have my tri-weekly wax appointments planned months in advanced. I’m a big fan of waxing my entire body. Most people aren’t so I guess you could shave or do whatever else you do to remove hair. (Not to say that I’m right and your wrong but, waxing is the way to go). No matter what your hair removal preferences are, hair (especially thick hair) will keep your skin from feeling smooth to the touch, so get rid of it.

When your in the shower, exfoliate, exfoliate, exfoliate. I like to use those exfoliating gloves, the textured ones you put on your hands and scrub your body with. They sell them at drugstores or Target or Ulta. I just put my body wash on it and rub my bod. Easy.

When you get out of the shower, moisturize! Daily, I use sunscreen/tanning oil. (I wrote about it here!!) But when you’re fresh out the shower I suggest something more substantial. A few weeks ago I started using the Palmer’s Coconut Oil Body Lotion and I don’t know what I was doing before I found it. It’s made of all natural ingredients with coconut oil, sweet almond oil, and Monoi oil. It leaves your skin super hydrated (read: smooth) and it doesn’t have any yucky parabens or sulfates or other weird chemicals. Plus, it’s ingredients are sustainably sourced! Win win win!

I use it every day when I get out of the shower. It’s not too thick so it’s easy to rub in and absorbs quickly. And it smells so good! Like almond extract. Think of when you bake sugar cookies and they have that sweet slightly almondy smell. Ugh. My mom says it smells like tanning oil, but if you read my sunscreen post, you’d know I’m not mad about that.

I’d love to hear any smooth skin tips you have.

Leave a Reply

